You say it’s your birthday…

So… today is Jason’s birthday.  He is 38.  We have never gotten to celebrate his birthday together…we have never gotten to celebrate my birthday together either…we celebrated my birthday early one year…and his early this year…as in a whole month early but we have never actually been together on our birthdays.  It kinda really totally sucks.  So I wished my husband “Happy Birthday” on Facebook…wahoo…how screwed up is that?  Everyone is trying to be super helpful by saying things like, “Don’t stress about it, you only care right now cause you just got married,  in 15 years you won’t even care if he is not there in fact you will be glad if he is gone/out of town/on an ocean somewhere…””…umm…WTF?  I mean I know they are just trying to be helpful…in their own special way…but the reality is that I have not been married for 15 years…I have been married for a whopping 15 minutes and it is okay for me to be a little down that on his birthday my husband is on a ship on his way to the frigid arctic circle and I am here, taking care of the house and walking the dogs and carrying forth with “our” life…

So there…Hmphhh…

Anywho…can you tell I am a bit down today?

I think I mentioned my stepmom Becky, was diagnosed with breast cancer a couple of weeks ago right?  Well she had her first round of chemo on Monday and I think she thought she was going to not be affected by it that badly because the day afterwards she felt decent.  Then she called the day after that (yesterday) crying because she doesn’t feel good…I feel so horribly for her…she has my Dad there and a couple of friends…but all of our family is here (Houston, TX) and in Kansas City, KS…she is in Little Rock, AR…I wish I could be there for her…just to make her laugh and feel like she is not so isolated…but it is not to be…

I hate Medicaid and Social Security…this is unrelated to Becky and her cancer…this has everything to do with my biological mother and the fact that all SS and Medicaid do is jerk her chain and complicate my life…

I hate TxDOT too…but that is completely unrelated…

Wow…there is a whole lot of hate going on in this post…so i will try to change it up…

I LOVE wedge heels…love them…I have two pair now…one copper colored and one black and I love them…I also love my dutch oven and my KitchenAid Stand Mixer…

I love my patio garden and the fact that I am no longer a plant killer…and in fact seem to have some sort of a gift…I find joy in in my backyard…and I have some happy plants…proof that old dogs can learn new tricks…

Here are a few random things today…

  • I bought a new top…it is a faintly pink linen shirt and it makes me look pregnant…I did not realize this until I saw myself in the bathroom at work…I am NOT pregnant…just sayin’…
  • I could really go for a Philly cheese-steak right now…
  • It’s humid here and summer has begun to creep in…I really, REALLY wish I liked summer…but if I can’t like it at least I have gotten better about bitching about it…mostly…
  • This is my 3rd blog post this month…pretty fancy…
  • Jason has been gone for21 days…he will be home in 29 more days…
  • Big Fat Sigh…
  • I don’t like Cat Cora…the Iron Chef…seriously…not really sure why…just don’t…
  • Rachael Rays voice makes my ears bleed…
  • I have had 3 cups of chicory coffee today…thus far…
  • I am in love with Pancetta…I have been using it lately on top of my pizza’s…
  • I make homemade pizza about 4 times a week…it is my sickness…for now…

Well…I guess that is all for now…

Love ya all out there in the blogging cosmos…

JustJil

9 thoughts on “You say it’s your birthday…

  1. Laurie says:

    Hey my hizzy!
    I am enjoying my chicory coffee too… delish!
    Sorry you’re going through so much stuff right now.. I wished your hubby a Happy Bday on facebook too… and yeah, while people are trying to comfort you, those comments are nuts! I just say, miss him, think about him, and love him.. that’s all you can do! No need to turn stuff off… not good!

    I texted John this morning about a philly cheese, but the punk never wrote me back. I am wondering if he likes me anymore! LOL

    Michael Symon Rocks!!! My book will be in today.. that makes me smile. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    xoxoxoxo

    • justjil says:

      LOL…I know they mean well…it’s their own brand of a reality check…I really do get it but sometimes you just want people to acknowledge that you are sad and that’s okay…you don’t always want people to try to “fix” it…especially their brand of “fixing” it…

      Yes…John did not respond to my suggestion that you “adopt” his lovechild “Yoda the kitten” either…maybe he doesn’t like me anymore either…lol

      Chicory coffee is da bomb…

      Michael Symon indeed rocks…bald is beautiful…

      🙂

  2. lil chef says:

    Sorry to hear about Becky….please send her my love and prayers when you talk/email her next. I understand about birthdays, and every-days. Each day is a special day and you want to share it with the one you love…..

    My randomness for the day….Lee is moving back to H-town and I’m no longer there! So there. He has a real job…..

    Missing you.

    • jil says:

      Thanks Jenny Lou…I will tell Becky…I will talk to her tomorrow…

      So Lee has a real job…like he is a grown up or something…lol

      Well now you will have a reason to come down and visit…we’ll do tea!

      J

  3. Kim says:

    Seems the Blahs are going around as I have had them too. My kids just think their mom has been a big ole bitch this week as Chris is away,so I sorta feel your pain. Though he is only gone for the week and no where near as long as Jason…and we are not newlyweds. I just miss a second ear for the kids to whine at.

    Really sorry you are so bummed. Though you knew he would be gone a lot, I know it isn’t easy. I’ve been through longer periods before too…Chris travels with his job…India, Australia, for three weeks at a time and it sucks.

    Maybe the next time they are both gone, you could come visit and we could commiserate over a few bottles of wine????

    Love ya, girl. Hang in there!
    And do you know that you and I are the two C&P girls who are not pregnant? And Laurie, so there are three of us!

    • jil says:

      That is true..we three are not knocked up…lol…

      I knew you would know what I was saying about Jason being gone…for the most part I am good with his travel now…in many ways though we have only been together for just under two years…this is still not my first rodeo…but special occasions are just hard…it’s weird to say that we have been together for two years and not have spent either of our birthdays together…lol…I know at some point we will…in many ways, this is just the beginning but 7 1/2 weeks is still a long time to be gone…and I am not going to apologize to the hooligans who think I should be happy and out partying because I don’t have my man here dragging me down…lol

      And never you fear…at some point I will make it up there…or you could come on down to Tejas since you like the heat 🙂

      Love you too…Jil

  4. Jack Sh*t says:

    “Rachael Rays voice makes my ears bleed…”

    THANK YOU!

  5. Tahnea says:

    Hi!
    Cool blog! I’m just starting (again!) another weight loss journey. Your before/after shots on the side of your blog are excellent – you look fantastic! Well done!

    I’m not sure what your Hubby does or why he is away from you alot, but my partner in in the Navy here in Australia, and it absolutely sh*ts me some comments that my friends make! The latest one I got was one friend boo hoo-ing about how her BF was going away for a weekend (!) and when I mentioned how long mine is away she said ‘Yeah, but you knew that [he would be away alot] when you got together’. SO?!! Does that make it any easier?? Grr!! So I know EXACTLY how you feel! Hope he is home soon 🙂

    Tahnea

  6. Heather says:

    Just for the record (Kim, Jil, & Laurie) – I’m not knocked up either and I’m a proud C&P girl. Sure, I may be a little behind in blog land, but I’m not knocked up – Woo hoo! 🙂

    I’m sorry that your husband is out on his birthday and robbing you of the chance of making him feel like the Prince he is. Someday . . . right? You have EVERY right to be sad about it! I would miss him too (and I’ve never even met him) and it’s great to hear about how much you adore him. And I HOPE that adoration doesn’t change when you’ve been married 15 years!!! 🙂

    Though there seem to be some struggles in your world, I’m glad to hear that there are some positives in your life too! We all have our days and it’s good to vent.

    Wedge heels, huh? I may have to look into those! 🙂

Leave a Reply

