Alas…Old Gallbladder I know You Well…

Did anyone have to have their gallbladder removed at the same time as their RNY?  Did it affect your recovery time?  I wasn’t really concerned about it, my Doctor told me it was pretty common to have them done at the same time, he said, “piece of cake, don’t worry about it.”  So I didn’t…until now.  Two people in the last 2 days have mentioned that each knew a person who had their gallbladders removed and each of them needed over a month to recover and go back to work.  I am not foolish enough to think two people qualify as a typical result but I would like to be prepared for whatever lies ahead, so does anyone out there have any personal knowledge of recovery time?  Just as a general FYI…

Lovin’ ya all…

Just Jil

4 thoughts on “Alas…Old Gallbladder I know You Well…

  1. Linda says:

    Hi Jil – I had my gall bladder removed, but just by itself. It took two full weeks for me to be back to normal. I had it done by laparascope – the easy way. Don’t know if that will help you or not. It was a pretty easy recovery – you just have to follow your doctor’s instructions!

  2. Dawn says:

    Jil,
    Becca sent us your blog link. We are so proud of you for stepping forward. How brave! I have you on my prayer list and hope you achieve your dream. You have given so much love to our family. I hope you know how precious you are to us. Take care of yourself!
    Love,
    Dawn Weaver
    (Rachel, Charlotte, and Eleanor)

  3. Dr. Ferrari didn’t take mine when I had my surgery… so maybe yours won’t be removed either. Another blogger just had hers out 15 months after surgery… I can hook you up with her if you’d like and maybe she can give you more info.

  4. Meghan says:

    They did a sonogram of mine to see if they should take it out during surgery, and decided against it. Now I’m sure I’ll just have to have a second surgery somewhere down the line! Lots of people get the two-for-one, no worries!

Leave a Reply

